This new version of Design Space has a feature which allows users to save projects to their computers for use while offline. The offline feature is now available to all users. If you have version 5.0.21, you have the offline feature.
How do I know if I’m working offline?
If you are connected to the internet, Design Space for Desktop automatically connects to Cricut’s servers. If you disconnect from the internet or your internet goes out, you’ll get a message that you are working offline and the “Offline” icon will appear in the upper left corner of the screen. You will only be able to work with projects that you have downloaded to your computer when you are not connected to the Internet.
If I’m going to a crop or other crafting event where I know that internet connectivity is bad or non-existent, I would download the projects I plan to work on.
To save the project to your computer, go to “My Projects” and click on the three dots below the project you want to save.
Next, select “Save for Offline.”
You’ll see a little check box with a line under it indicating the project has been saved to your computer for offline use.
Once you go offline, you will only be able to work with projects you have previously saved to your computer.
The first time you save a new project using the Desktop App, it will ask you where you want to save your projects. You have the option of “Cloud & Computer” or “Cloud Only.” I have set my default to “Cloud Only” so that I don’t take up storage space on my computer.
You can change these settings at any time by clicking on the three lines in the upper left corner of the screen and selecting “Settings.”
Once offline, templates and image upload won’t be available.
Also, the only images that will be available when offline are the basic shapes and images that have been downloaded in a project file. You will need to connect to the internet again to access the Cricut image library and to upload images.
Here is a brief video where I demonstrate this feature: